Faith is not certainty

The more church history books I read the more I am convinced that one of if not the biggest enemy of our Christian faith has been misplaced certainty. Faith is not certainty. Walking by faith and not by sight is supposed to be a messy and humbling process for the Christ follower. Today when we (as evangelical Christians) use the word faith I think many of us really mean certainty. Not the kind of certainty that leads to things like unconditional love and true self examination but the kind of certainty which leads to spiritual blindness and religious arrogance.

Attack of the fighting certainty robots!.

Jesus is not my metaphor for political cultural, ethical, judgmental or sociological certainty. Sure there are many times and many moments where I can have the comfort of situational certainty but I can’t cage it, tame it, or make it my domestic pet for every life circumstance. When I am really looking and listening to Jesus I see how fluid, double minded and even shallow my certainty really is. I see how and to what extent my heart idolizes the dream world of doubtlessness where everyone’s moral methamphetamines provide them with sanguine smiles and vacuous environments.

I could be missing something but faith is making me more certain of Jesus and less certain of a lot of other things these days. I am not loosing my faith just my addiction to certainty.

What do you think?

One comment on “Faith is not certainty

  1. Ramona says:

    Yes, I too agree and it is odd, that someone just recently was talking about ‘faith’ as it pertained to Jesus etc… For me, it is a child like faith, as I child I did not know or fully understood why I was loved or why my mommy and daddy would feed me when I was hungry, I just knew. For me, the faith I have in the promise of Jesus is very hard to live by on a daily basis and not fail and I often more than not do fail. But, just as I have this child like faith in his promise, I also have a child like faith in his forgiveness and never letting me go.

Leave a Reply

