Homosexuality and Scripture

Excellent presentation by a very well respected scholar! Thank you Ben Witherington.

I am in complete agreement with what Witherington presents here from scripture but i do have some questions and a small rant that has been rolling around in my mind for awhile now concerning homosexuality and the Christian response…

1. In light of the Gospel (The person and work of Jesus The Christ) why do we sound like moralists concerning this issue but not on many other sin issues? [By moralists I mean a people who follow a system of moral principles]

2. Why does behavioral modification seem to be a means of grace for homosexuals and not everyone else? (It seems like we are picking and choosing based on the “yucky factor”)

3. Is repent simply an evangelical synonym for behavioral modification?

4.  If our response to hearing the Good News is to turn and follow. What exactly does this look like?

Who doesn’t  hate the thought of being audited come tax season.  I remember talking with an acquaintance about taxes and after I told him how stressful it was he pulled his cigarette out of his mouth and looked at me for a minute with all seriousness and said… “really do you have something to hide? Is that why your worried?”  I remember walking off and thinking to my self  “you @$%!@#& jerk, NO! I’m stressed because taxes are complicated and I am afraid I could have made a mistake… were you born on another planet?… Mr. Perfect Man?

Anyways… when issues like homosexuality come up for some reason some pretty understanding, peaceful, loving and kind Christian’s begin to look (in my opinion) a lot like tax accountants and their churches must look a lot like the department of the IRS or CRA. Full of people who smoke just ready to try to figure out what you have done wrong.  I could imagine being a fall ridden (Rom 3:23), law broken (2 Cor 3:6) sexually confused person (which every honest person is as a result of the fall and the law) looking for grace and being really confused by some “Christians” who seem to have this whole “tax thing” figured out and love to make people feel unconformable who don’t.

Some people ACT like they will hold up well come audit day. Those people might laugh, mock or over simplify the complexities of this fallen world full of fallen people doing and thinking fallen things but in the end I won’t be putting my money on behavior modification when I stand before the great tax agent in the sky… I will be thankful for his Son Jesus just like I am thankful for H&R Block (well that is until H&R Block messes up, LOL).

13 comments on “Homosexuality and Scripture

  1. Very interesting video and questions…I have always questioned the quantifying of sin and will somebody please tell me where that chart is that tells me the hierarchy of sin? I need to see where I rank…

    Great post!

  2. disableme says:

    Let me know if you find it… I would like to see where I am as well. Haha

  3. I love it, Able. I HATE it when “Christians” don’t treat ALL with love. Love the sinner, hate the sin. I agree with this video except that I would add to his thought on inclinations….in that we need to take every thought captive to Christ as the bible says…so, if our thoughts or inclinations aren’t lining up with the Word of God and what it says our behaviors should be then we need to take these thoughts/inclinations captive and submit them to Christ. Remember one who looks with lust commits adultery in his heart and one who hates commits murder in his heart..therefore proper behavior begins with our thoughts. It’s true we dont know if some are born gay or not…it very well may be true…what about people born with both sexual organs…what sex are they even intended to be?…these are hard things to determine in life, but here’s a thought for ya…I think we can agree that most men are born with an inclination to polygamy BUT the Christian man commits himself to one woman in obedience to the Lord and His design. I love to emphasize that all sin is equal…white lies are equal to murder are equal to stealing are equal to speaking the Lord’s name in vain are equal to same sex sexual relationships…and every day, we ALL need to pick up our cross and follow HIm!

  4. disableme says:

    Thanks Jen for your response. Indeed we ALL need to pick up our cross and follow Him!
    I know what that looks like on paper but in practice it seems to be a much more complicated issue. There seems to be plenty of room for culturally acceptable sins to be wrestled with or “covered by His Grace”. I think of the popular statement “don’t judge me God’s not through with me yet” or “don’t judge me because I sin differently than you”. As an Evangelical it seems that we pray, laugh and giggle over coffee and bible studies about the acceptable sins but not the “yucky ones”. Those ones aren’t funny… I wonder if a Christian STRUGGLING with homosexuality or any other “yucky sin” would be comforted and encouraged if he or she had access to the same prayer, coffee and giggles bible studies or care groups that changed me as a young Christian wrestling with “acceptable sins”.

  5. Rick Unruh says:

    I don’t like the idea of Mr Witherington or anyone else critiquing my behavior. Sounds like fruit checking to me. We need to encourage each other to maintain our relationships with the Lord and let Him do the critiquing. We are called to help people when the Spirit convinces them that there is a problem. Let’s not try to put Him out of a job. When the Holy Spirit convinces a gay person that they have a problem, He will likely send us in to offer help and encouragement, just as we will stand by all the other sinners in our church. Sin is the great equalizer. Without sin we might actually have cause to build a hierarchy of sorts in our Christian gatherings. That would be a disaster!!!

  6. disableme says:

    Great comments!

  7. well, that homosexual will be welcome at my table with coffee! We can laugh at each other then pray for grace to put it all in perspective in the light of eternity!

  8. Wanna hear something that’ll just rip your heart out? A few years ago, I attended a church where two lesbians started attending…one of them worked a lot and therefore wasn’t there often, but the other was and we sat together and began a friendship ….that turned out to be brief due to the tragedy I’m about to reveal….the church made a request to the congregation for offering to go towards some computers that were needed…well, this lesbian happened to be pretty well off and offered to the board a rather large donation. They turned it down because they didn’t want what they termed “sinful money”!!! She was crushed and never graced the doorstep again! I was sooooo MAD! They accept money and offering from sinners all the time but here’s wasn’t acceptable?…so disgusting.

  9. disableme says:

    Sinful money? wow.

  10. John den Engelsen says:

    This is actually Lori not John:) I loved many parts of this video. I agree with him with regard to the ” sexual gold standard” of New testament christianity being heterosexual monogamy or chaste singleness. We need to look at behavior not inclinations. I have long lamented the church’s unloving judgemental approach to homosexuality. I agree wholeheartedly that homophobia is a sin. I think that when we see an inappropriate lifestyle in our body we need to be honest about the sin we see and like Rick, I agree that we should meet that person with compassion, encouragement, prayer and most of all love, while making it clear that staying in that willfully sinful state isn’t acceptable. Each person and situation, I think requires an individual response. A spirit filled, mature Christian, who is willfully sinning is usually already a pretty miserable soul. The truth eventually wins out often. A young, newly saved Christian may take quite awhile for the big hunks of sin to be sanctified out of them. In both situations non judgemental love encourages them forward into Christ while judgemental harsh criticism drives them away or at least towards resentful grudges. I think we need to apply this approach to ALL sinfulness not just the sexual ones:)

    It breaks my heart to think that hurting, confused people are denied the immense comfort of Jesus by us unloving Church goers at times.

  11. disableme says:

    “A spirit filled, mature Christian, who is willfully sinning is usually already a pretty miserable soul.”

    Wonderful, Lori. Thanks for contributing.

  12. Paul Poppe says:

    One problem that presents itself on this topic of homosexuality is the unwillingness of the secular mindset to even entertain the idea that the homosexual lifestyle could be wrong. Because of this the secular mindset is at odds with God’s word from the outset. It’s true that believers must avoid making a special case of any sin. Yet when the culture will not admit that something is wrong where does this leave the Christian?

  13. disableme says:

    Paul in your opinion is a person not a Christian if they believe homosexuality is not wrong?

Leave a Reply

