I was blessed deeply and encouraged by this lady.

12 comments on “I was blessed deeply and encouraged by this lady.

  1. Leslie says:

    “Let’s just say they were not interested in having my flavor in their gumbo.” 🙂 Thank you for sharing this, Able! This was so refreshing to watch and listen to. Just beautiful.

  2. disableme says:

    I know I laughed pretty hard when I heard that! I am glad you enjoyed it as much as I did.

  3. andrewteach says:

    Reblogged this on Poetic Journeys and commented:
    This echos my hopes for Christians

  4. Jack says:

    very good, I agree God wants to take our failures and make somethig good out of them.

  5. Jen says:

    Loved so much of what she had to say, but kept thinking she should be saying “Christian” instead of “Lutheran” and “Jesus” instead of “Lutheran Liturgy”. Why the separate camps all the time? But just loved her clear view of the Jesus so few know…

  6. Excellent. In our brokenness we are most fertile for God’s grace.

  7. Rosy says:

    I agree with Jen.

  8. disableme says:

    @ Jen and Rosy… In the context of her audience (ELCA Conference) I felt it was appropriate that she brought up and encouraged them in their own faith tradition. She did make it pretty clear that she had come out of a denomination that thought they were the only real Christians.

  9. Jen says:

    I understand Able, but then it seems ironic that she sounds like she’s come full circle and is now nearly saying the same thing. Hear that… irony. 🙂 Reminds me of our chapel deck conversations a couple of weeks ago!

  10. disableme says:

    I guess this is just one we see differently. Her message was not to us… like one of Paul’s letters to Timothy it’s task was not to us but it is beneficial for us if we employ discernment and understand some of Timothy’s context and our own. The context of her hearers is everything in this particular message. If she was at an evangelical, or non-denominational gathering and she was “selling” the Lutheran brand then yeah I see the irony but that wasn’t her audience or purpose in promoting her testimony.

    It would have been nice though if she was speaking to a non-denominational audience while the camera was rolling. 🙂

  11. Jen says:

    I always feel slightly out of my league when I’m discussing things with you Able, and this is no exception. But if I imagine (maybe not effectively) that I am part of her audience (as in a member of her church), I can’t help but think I would leave feel smug and assured in my choice of church as much as my choice of God (or His choice of me!) How many conservative, “old-school” people are in the pews of her church, I wonder. It seems like arguing semantics at times… the more I think I know, the less I truly seem to understand. Ultimately, I rest in the fact that Jesus is enough. If I have to choose the “right” church, or even the “best” church, I’m not interested. I love what she has to say about the passionate love and grace of God. I just feel frustrated at how that message seems to be often “shot” out at people as something that has to have “fresh” and unconventional packaging. I don’t want to be a wet blanket, or unduly negative, but… well, there you have it.

  12. disableme says:

    “Ultimately, I rest in the fact that Jesus is enough. If I have to choose the “right” church, or even the “best” church, I’m not interested.”

    “I just feel frustrated at how that message seems to be often “shot” out at people as something that has to have “fresh” and unconventional packaging.”

    I couldn’t agree more. Well said. 🙂

Leave a Reply

