What four things does Jesus call a disciple to? (Sermon title and outline for Sunday 8/12/12)

Mark 1:16–20 (The Message)

16 Passing along the beach of Lake Galilee, he saw Simon and his brother Andrew net-fishing. Fishing was their regular work. 17 Jesus said to them, “Come with me. I’ll make a new kind of fisherman out of you. I’ll show you how to catch men and women instead of perch and bass.” 18 They didn’t ask questions. They dropped their nets and followed. 19 A dozen yards or so down the beach, he saw the brothers James and John, Zebedee’s sons. They were in the boat, mending their fishnets. 20 Right off, he made the same offer. Immediately, they left their father Zebedee, the boat, and the hired hands, and followed.

The four things Jesus calls a disciple to…

  1. Take Me (Jesus) in…
  2. Turn to Me (Jesus)…
  3. Trust in Me (Jesus)…
  4. Trace My (Jesus) steps…
3 comments on “What four things does Jesus call a disciple to? (Sermon title and outline for Sunday 8/12/12)

  1. Ramona-Tony says:

    “Trace my steps”….tough one, He is the judge…the jury. For those (including myself)….it is just as wrong to “judge” oneself, as it is another. “Control” is common place among the insecure, it is common place among the narcissistic, the spoiled. To have ‘command’ over one’s rightful place, is easily delusional, and some enjoy the talent of ‘mind games’… POWER…in showing they have a ‘right’ of, SOLELY consuming and devouring as they see fit…We are to be as “Him” best we can, in all areas…….to do so, means to be humble…without pride and ownership…to
    share lovingly…not just outwardly, but inwardly as well. When we as humans…(His creations) fall short, we pick ourselves up and humbly ask for forgiveness, not to just Him, but to those you’ve ‘crumpled’….we are NOT all knowing as we think we are, we are not ALL POWERFUL as we think we are………….life in the long run always prove us just another survivor thankful for those left at the end that still care……………most importantly the forgiving HIM!

  2. disableme says:

    It’s not as clear as I would like in written form but by “Trace My steps” I mean Jesus wants us to follow Him. In other words I am saying Jesus wants us to trace His steps.

  3. Anonymous says:

    Reading Comprehensive I am not 🙂 Nor am I always able to find my own point..I had one somewhere!

Leave a Reply

