As a Christian my sense of belonging, group identity and purpose finds ultimate meaning in being around Jesus, listening to him in community with others doing the same.

  • SERMON TEXT for 1/13/2013:

  • Mark 3:31–35 (The Message) 31 Just then his mother and brothers showed up. Standing outside, they relayed a message that they wanted a word with him. 32 He was surrounded by the crowd when he was given the message, “Your mother and brothers and sisters are outside looking for you.” 33 Jesus responded, “Who do you think are my mother and brothers?” 34 Looking around, taking in everyone seated around him, he said, “Right here, right in front of you—my mother and my brothers. 35 Obedience is thicker than blood. The person who obeys God’s will is my brother and sister and mother.”
  • SERMON’S MAIN POINT:

    • As a Christian my sense of belonging, group identity and purpose finds ultimate meaning in being around Jesus, listening to him in community with others doing the same.
  •  The will of God for Jesus was found outside of his worldly (nuclear) family.

o (There is tension in doing Gods will when it comes to family ties)

  •  My desire to know and love God is accomplished by listening to and following* Jesus.

o (*by following I mean learning about who he is and what he did, within a church body, through corporate and personal worship, prayer, meditation, study, good works etc..)

  •  The will of God is accomplished in my life through loving God as Christ has taught me and loving our neighbor as Christ has taught me.

o (God has chosen the church to be the primary community in which he accomplishes his kingdom purposes and will for our fallen world today)

Questions to think on this week:

1. As a Christian how can I love my family like Christ without centering my life around my family?

2. How can I respond to an immediate family member who asks me to do something that I feel as a follower of Christ I should not do?

3. In light of this passage what is Gods will?

4. My friend James Schick said… “God’s Children are related by more than blood. We are related by something spiritual that science can’t explain.” Question: If we (followers of Christ) are related by MORE THAN blood what does this idea imply?

5. IN YOUR OPINION: Do you think Jesus would have agreed with the statement “You cant choose your family but you can choose your friends?”

Leave a Reply

